After the postponement of the annual Fashion Awards event—which will receive no live ceremony this year—and nomination announcements in the middle of March, we now get the official list of nominees, announced by the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA).

Among others, notable names from the list include 2019 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund winner Christopher John Rogers, Kenneth Nicholson, Peter Do, and Reese Cooper, all first-time nominees, while established names like Tom Ford compete for two awards. Other familiar designers like Kim Jones for Dior and Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton are both up picks for Global Men’s designer of the Year.

Worth noting, some category changes have also been set — there are no honorees this year as well as no Fashion Icon, Positive Change, Founder’s, Media, Lifetime Achievement, or International awards, but Global Women’s Designer of the Year and Global Men’s Designer of the Year for designers categories outside of the U.S. have been added. “In this time of unprecedented challenge and change for our industry, we feel very strongly that it is important to recognize the nominees representing the best of fashion creativity,” Tom Ford, chairman of the CFDA said in a statement. “We look forward to returning to an in-person celebration honoring the American fashion industry in 2021.”

The winners will be announced on September 14, 2020, digitally through the CFDA official website as well as its social media channels. You can see the list down below.

American Womenswear Designer of the Year:
Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
Brandon Maxwell, Gabriela Hearst
Marc Jacobs
Tom Ford

American Menswear Designer of the Year:
Emily Adams Bode for Bode
Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss
Thom Browne
Todd Snyder
Tom Ford

American Accessories Designer of the Year:
Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
Gabriela Hearst
Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher Jewelry
Stuart Vevers for Coach
Telfar Clemens for Telfar

American Emerging Designer of the Year:
Christopher John Rogers
Kenneth Nicholson
Peter Do
Reese Cooper
Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto for Staud

Global Women’s Designer of the Year:
Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta
Dries Van Noten
Miuccia Prada for Prada
Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino
Rick Owens

Global Men’s Designer of the Year:
Craig Green
Dries Van Noten
Jonathan Anderson for Loewe
Kim Jones for Dior
Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton

Posted by:Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *